Handicapping Contests

Assiniboia Downs is pleased to host 13 handicapping tournaments in 2024.  Each tournament offers prize money along with earning points that go towards the Handicapper of the Year title.  Your best seven out of 13 tournaments will be used for your Handicapper of the Year score.

Tournaments are open anyone who has a Manitoba HPI account. Please see below for complete details.  If you have any questions please reach out to Sheri at sherig@ASDowns.com

  • Player’s Choice Tournaments
    1st Place: $1,000 plus trophy
    2nd Place: $400
    3rd Place: $200
    4th Place: $100
    5th Place: $50
    Entry fee $25 (enter by 4 p.m. the Friday before). $2 Win-Place-Show on one horse in any race (harness, thoroughbred or quarter horse) from North America. Wagers must be placed on your HPI account before 10 p.m. on the contest day. See Player’s Choice tournament dates below. Entry Form – click here.  Click here for rules.
  • Las Vegas Challenge Tournaments
    1st Place: Trip for two to Las Vegas plus trophy (the winner will be provided $3,500 to book their trip to Las Vegas)
    2nd Place: $500
    3rd Place: $250
    Las Vegas Challenge tournaments are held during live racing on the dates listed below. Wagers are placed on your HPIbet account. Entry fee $50. $2 Win-Place-Show on one horse in all races from Assiniboia Downs on designated contest day. Receive entry fee discounts by qualifying each race day.  Click  here for entry form. Read the rules here.

2024 Tournament Dates

  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, January 20  – results
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, February 17 – results
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, March 16 –  results
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, April 13 – results
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, May 11- results
  • Las Vegas Challenge – Monday, June 17
  • Las Vegas Challenge – Monday, July 8
  • Las Vegas Challenge – Monday, July 29
  • Las Vegas Challenge – Monday, August 19
  • Las Vegas Challenge – Monday, September 16
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, October 19
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, November 23
  • Player’s Choice – Saturday, December 28
  • Current Handicapper of the Year standings – click here
  • Handicapper of the Year (determined by best 7 of 13 tournament scores)
    1st Place: $3,500 plus trophy
    2nd Place: $500
    3rd Place: $250
    Handicapper of the Year points sytem – see here

Let’s talk

Let’s Get Connected

815.555.5555

Donec euismod eu ligula

Get a Free Consultation With One Of Our Experts

1 + 3 =